The lawmakers and law enforcement agencies in Utah strongly prohibit drinking under the influence of alcohol. Because of this, those who are deemed habitual DUI offenders will be subjected to harsher sentences and a significantly longer license suspension than a first DUI conviction.
Possible Penalties for a Second DUI Conviction in Utah
If you’ve been previously convicted of a DUI in Utah, chances are you’re already familiar with some of the potential punishments if you’re going to be convicted a second time. If you’ve been charged with this offense again, you could be facing around 240 hours of jail time or alternative service, which can include electronic monitoring during home confinement or 240 hours in a work service program. Also, expect to have a two-year license suspension and a fine not more than $800.
You could also be ordered to serve extensive and supervised probation, an experienced DUI lawyer in Provo explains. While serving probation, you should explicitly follow very specific rules or else face further punishments. You will likewise be required to finish a drug and/or alcohol assessment and screening and alcohol and/or drug awareness and treatment program.
In addition, if you refuse to take a breathalyzer test when you were pulled over, under the Implied Consent statute of Utah, your license could be suspended for three years and you’ll have to pay additional fines.
Consequences of a Second DUI Conviction
The various consequences that come with a second conviction for DUI will remain long after you finish serving your criminal sentence. Likewise, since your conviction will be added to your criminal and driving record, you might be facing difficulty getting a job as well as increased insurance fees.
Though the stakes are definitely higher, you can fight a second DUI charge with help of an attorney who will uncover any weaknesses in the case against you and reveal facts that will be in favor of your case.