First-time DUI Offender? Get Help Before Tainting Your Record

The Vision

First-time DUI Offender in OhioOhio, like every state in the country, imposes serious fines and penalties to those who drive under the influence. People found guilty of driving any vehicle under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or controlled substances may receive severe penalties. Even drivers who committed their first offense can already face a serious crime situation, which will not only result in fines and license suspensions but also jail time.

DUI and its legal limits

Drunk driving is when a driver has a blood alcohol content (BAC) of more than 0.08. This only applies to non-professional drivers or private motorists aged 21 and above; minors have a BAC limit of 0.02. Commercial drivers, on the other hand, have a lower limit and must follow more stringent standards since they operate larger motor vehicles. They should not drive if they have a BAC of 0.04 or above.

First-time offenders and their penalties

When caught driving under the influence, drivers who refuse to take the BAC test may face at least a one-year suspension on their licenses or known as Administrative License Suspension (ALS). For prohibited BAC, drivers may receive a 90-day ALS.

First-time offenders may also have to pay a minimum fine of $375 up to $1,075. Law Offices of Steven R. Adams noted that jail time is also common, which is about three consecutive days. You may face a Court License Suspension depending on the severity of the DUI case, ranging from six months up to three years or a probation of up to five years.

When facing a DUI violation for the first time, know that you can rely on a DUI lawyer to help before you taint your driving record. As DUI is a serious crime, it only makes sense to have serious representation.

READ  In the Land of Lawyers, Paralegals Rule